County extension councils seek candidates
September 25, 2009
Counties in southwest Missouri are now accepting nominations for the 2009 public election of County Extension Council members. Names of nominees are generally needed prior to November 1.

Getting nominated as a candidate can be done by contacting the local MU Extension center and expressing a willingness to serve. Most MU Extension councils have an elections chairperson who will follow up with candidates and secure their permission to be placed on the ballot.

Every county in Missouri has an Extension Council made up of elected (and appointed) members who represent the broad educational needs and backgrounds of people in that county. Council candidates must be at least 18 years old and reside in the district they represent.

Missouri statutes create County Extension Councils to work with MU Extension specialists. Council members assist in planning and carrying out MU Extension programs, providing local Extension governance and representing the diversity of the county's changing population. Most counties in southwest Missouri hold council elections the third week of January. Each council election is held in accordance with state law (Chapter 262.550-262.620 R.S. Mo. 1969).

Persons who are interested can start by calling the MU Extension center in their home county. Those telephone numbers include Barry County, (417) 847-3161; Barton County, (417) 682-3579; Cedar County, (417) 276-3313; Christian County, (417) 581-3558; Dade County, (417) 637-2112; Dallas County, (417) 345-7551; Greene County, (417) 862-9284; Hickory County, (417) 745-6767; Jasper County, (417) 358-2158; Lawrence County, (417) 466-3102; McDonald County, (417) 223-4775; Newton County, (417) 455-9500; Polk County, (417) 326-4916; Stone County, (417) 357-6812; Taney County: (417) 339-4431; and Webster County: (417) 859-2044.

Go Back


You are currently not logged in. If you wish to post a comment, please first log in.

 ThreadAuthorViewsRepliesLast Post Date

No comments yet.