Hall of fame inductees to include Miami woman
January 21, 2011

Ardina Moore of Miami, Oklahoma, pictured, chairperson of the Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma Cultural Committee, is one of eight women who will be inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall Of Fame on April 7, 2011. The program will begin at 3 p.m. in the Chesapeake Event Center of the Oklahoma History Center, 800 Nazih Zuhdi Dr., Oklahoma City, and will be followed by a celebratory reception in the Devon Great Hall.

Quapaw tribal business committee member Flossie Mathews stated, “Ardina exemplifies the Oklahoma spirit in numerous ways. But most notably she is known as a pioneer for Native American women. Taking on leadership roles with the Quapaw and Osage Tribes. Running a successful business, leading the fight for tribal land issues, and generously giving of her time and talent to the State and the people she loves.”

The role of the committee that Moore heads is to improve the quality of life for women, families, and children in Oklahoma.

John H. Berrey, chairman of the Quapaw tribal business committee, said about Moore, “Adrina has a very deep commitment to the young people in our state, and not only to the youth of Indian country. Ardina rose as a strong woman and leader in her community. She understood that it was her responsibility as a Quapaw woman and as a teacher and as an Oklahoman to ensure that Quapaw and all children grow up with knowledge of their heritage.”

The Hall of Fame, which is part of the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women, was established in 1982 to recognize women who are pioneers in their field or in projects that benefit Oklahoma, who have made a significant contribution to the state of Oklahoma, who serve or have served as role models to other Oklahoma women, who are “unsung heroes” who have made a difference in the lives of Oklahomans or Americans because of their actions, who have championed other women, their issues, or who have served as public policy advocates for issues important to women.

The other inductees are: Dr. Laura Boyd (Norman), Chloe L. Brown (Tulsa), Joy D. Culbreath (Durant), Marcia J. Mitchell (Tulsa), Dr. Cynthia S. Ross (Lawton), Kathryn L. Taylor (Tulsa) and Helen Harrod Thompson (Ardmore).

Bios of all the inductees may be found here.

Go Back


You are currently not logged in. If you wish to post a comment, please first log in.

 ThreadAuthorViewsRepliesLast Post Date

The power of Facebookcmoomaw236302011-01-24 11:17:13