The Chart rocks
April 13, 2010
JOPLIN - Missouri Southern State University student journalists and their student newspaper adviser have brought home some major honors. Missouri Southern's student newspaper The Chart captured first place in best overall newspaper for class 2 in the Missouri College Media Association competition and Chart adviser T.R. Hanrahan was named MCMA Adviser of the Year. The awards, presented April 10, 2010 are for excellence in college journalism and are judged by professional journalists who are members of the Missouri Press Association.

"This shows once again that Missouri Southern produces some of the state's best newspaper reporters," said Brennan Stebbins, Chart editor-in-chief. "I think these honors reflect well on the paper, the department of communication and enhance the University's reputation."

On the same day, The Chart received word that it had bested Iowa State University for the Society of Professional Journalists' Region 7 Award of Excellence for editorial writing. Region 7 includes all colleges and universities in Missouri, Kansas, Iowa and Nebraska.

According to the SPJ judges, entries by The Chart were effectively crafted. "Many proven effective opinion-writing techniques such as repetition, direct address, and strong, early calls to action in this series of editorials on the turmoil involving the university president," they wrote.

For Adviser of the Year, Hanrahan bested a 16-year advising veteran and another with 32 years of experience. In presenting the award, Dr. Bob Bergland of Missouri Western State University cited "courage" as the quality that tipped the scales in Hanrahan's favor.

The Chart in all received 18 awards for newspaper excellence. The students are: Alexandra Nicolas, junior mass communications major from Joplin, first place newswriting and third place sportswriting; Brennan Stebbins, junior mass communications major from Carl Junction, first place sportswriting and second place editorial writing; Jordan Larimore, freshman mass communications major from Joplin, first place sportswriting; Patricia Pham, senior mass communications major from Joplin, first place regular column; Travis Curtice, senior international studies major from Joplin and Kaitlin Curtice, junior psychology major from Joplin, first place special section/supplement and second place photo page; Jessica Schreindl, senior mass communications major from Joplin, first place story illustration; Parker Willis, senior mass communications major from Webb City, third place regular column; Nathan Carter, junior mass communications major from Webb City, third place entertainment review; and Tiffany Eads, senior communications/PR major from Neosho and Angela Westphal, senior marketing major from Siatook, OK, third place feature page.

The Chart also received an award for sweepstakes, class two and members received five honorable mention awards.

Go Back


You are currently not logged in. If you wish to post a comment, please first log in.

 ThreadAuthorViewsRepliesLast Post Date

No comments yet.