Rudy Farber of Neosho heads MoDOT commission
March 03, 2012
Rudy Farber of Neosho and Grace Nichols of St. Charles switched roles as Farber took on the position of chair of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission.

"I want to thank Grace for her leadership this past year," Farber said. "She led the commission in making some very difficult decisions, including implementing the Missouri Department of Transportation's Bolder Five-Year Direction, which calls for the department to reduce staff, facilities and equipment. Her leadership on this matter alone will save the state millions of dollars in the long run."

Farber, chairman of the board of Community Bank & Trust in Neosho, was appointed to the commission in March 2007. Nichols, who was a senior circuit court judge in St. Charles County and a two-term mayor of St. Charles, has served on the commission since March 2008. Both of their terms expire in March 2013.

"Rudy and Grace are great folks and experienced leaders who have the best interest of Missourians at heart," said MoDOT Director Kevin Keith. "I look forward to working with them as we tackle some big challenges, most notably how we are going to fund transportation at the state and federal level for the long term."

The six-member bipartisan commission governs the Missouri Department of Transportation, the agency responsible for building and maintaining the state highway system and supporting other transportation modes in Missouri. Other commission members are Stephen Miller, Kansas City; Joe Carmichael, Springfield and Kenneth Suelthaus, St. Louis.

Go Back


You are currently not logged in. If you wish to post a comment, please first log in.

 ThreadAuthorViewsRepliesLast Post Date

No comments yet.