Senate majority caucus selects leaders
November 06, 2014
JEFFERSON CITY — The majority caucus today endorsed once again Sen. Tom Dempsey, R-St. Charles, to serve a second session as President Pro Tem of the Missouri Senate for the 98th General Assembly. Dempsey must still be elected to the post by the full Senate when it convenes in January. Before serving as President Pro Tem during the 97th General Assembly, he had served as the Senate Majority Floor Leader.

“We came together as a Senate last session to create solutions to real and complicated issues facing our state,” said Dempsey. “Those bipartisan efforts will continue into next year. We will be focused on promoting policies that will spur economic growth, and we will look at policies that will improve achievement in education whether that’s through funding or the student transfer issue.”

The President Pro Tem is responsible for appointing committee members, assigning legislation to committees, and ruling on points of order raised during debate in the Senate Chamber, among other powers.

Also elected to Senate Majority Caucus Leadership include: