Master Gardeners are recognized
April 30, 2014
Area Master Gardeners were recognized at the annual graduation and recognition event on April 8, 2014, in Carthage. Sixty-two Master Gardeners, family members and friends attended this year’s event.

Eighteen area residents participated in the 2014 University of Missouri Extension Master Gardener training in Carthage. The Master Gardener program is for people who may or may not have gardening experience, but are eager to acquire knowledge and share it with others. They have completed approximately 30 hours of training including topics such as vegetable and fruit production, insects, lawn care, trees and plant diseases. At the end of the training, they are asked to provide 30 hours of volunteer service to their communities during the coming year. The program is sponsored locally by the Jasper County University of Missouri Extension Council.

The 2014 class members were Mary Bell, Carl Junction; Becki Gilchrist, Cheryl Layne, and Linda Wenger, Webb City; Kelly Braeckel, Dave Gribben, BJ Johnson, Aubrey Lankford, and Mary Tullis, Joplin; Gail Grigg, Amy Silvers, Clifford Taylor, Rae-Malee Trout, and Karen Wright, Carthage; Karen Richardson, Monett; Stephen Herman, Galena; Denise Ruppert, Miami; and Mark Woods, Wyandotte.

Those completing their certification in 2013 are Amy Parker, Joplin; Mary Jean Hockman, Diamond; Colleen Kendrick and Don Kendrick, Neosho; Susan Tuohy, Racine and David Woodmansee, Oronogo. During 2013, local Master Gardeners reported 3,271 hours resulting in 2,605 contacts.

Thirty-five maintained their certification by donating at least 20 hours, plus an additional six hours of continuing education, during the past year. Those maintaining certification for 2013 are Marian Abrams, Mel Anderson, Patty Compton, Beulah Courter, Dale Mermoud, Dennis Neil, Wesley Ritter, Sharon Schrader, Bev Sturgis, Kerry Sturgis, Karen Trotter and Pat Wakefield from Carthage; Nancy Beckwith, Al Hashtroudi, Lee Hickman, Kathy McGowan, Jean Owen, Lee Rodriguez, Ron Wood, and Marilyn Wylie from Joplin; Marty Bennett, Brenda Coleman, Debbie Fedie, Carole Hayes, Betty Houser, and Edie Sullivan from Carl Junction; Gary Davis, Purdy; Chuck Evans and Patty Poirot, Miller; Doris House, Loma Linda; and Deborah Meyer, Jasper; Debbie Woodmansee, Oronogo; Paul Duncan and Sharon Duncan, Aurora; and Eric Osen, Diamond. Special awards were presented to Hockman, Rookie of the Year; Glenita Browning, Coordinator’s Service Award; Osen, Lou Anne Herron Community Service Award and Fedie and Betty Holland, Volunteer of the Year Award.

A Master Gardener who has been an active Master Gardener for a total of 10 years may be granted Emeritus status. Receiving Emeritus status was Gary Davis.

Additional information about the program can be obtained by contacting the Jasper County University of Missouri Extension Center in Carthage at (417) 358-2158.

Go Back


You are currently not logged in. If you wish to post a comment, please first log in.

 ThreadAuthorViewsRepliesLast Post Date

No comments yet.